Monday is a good day for a #LinkList

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 8.58.54 AM

READS // I’m reading a few books this week: Amanda Lindhout’s A House in the Sky, Asali Solomon’s Disgruntled and Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. They are all fantastic in completely different ways. I’ve been on a roll lately with fantastic books, and it’s only encouraging me to read more so I’ve basically been yack, yack, yacking nothing but books lately. If you know me in real life, #sorrynotsorry.

There’s a lot of talk about diversity in books this summer, or rather — the lack thereof in promoted book lists. I haven’t found a really fantastic list yet, but celebrated author (and personal favorite) Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was featured in an article talking about the books she’s reading now, and I unabashedly added them all to my to-read list. I meant to post this last month, but if you read nothing else in this post, read: “Having a Heart, Being Alive” by Roxane Gay.

LISTEN // I’m not gonna lie, I’ve been on a real nostalgic spree recently. I mean, if there’s a Now 1997! CD somewhere, I need it. I’ve been playing Dru Hill, Tegan and Sara, Incubus, Blu Cantrell, you name it. Generally, I try to resist nostalgia, but I was organizing my CDs this weekend (I know what you’re thinking, but I’m down to discs only and I feel bad throwing them out) and it just happened. Do yourself a favor. 

EXPERIENCE // In Search of ‘Wild’ Costa Rica (via NYTimes); Works in Progress: Women Artists We Should’ve Known Decades Ago (via NYTimes T Magazine)

TV // Are you watching Inside Amy Schumer? In its third season on Comedy Central, this show has been on my must-watch list since I caught a first season skit where she hires a “sext photographer”.

FILM // I saw Spy this weekend. It’s a classic spy-movie spoof featuring an unconventional lead saving the day in a completely improbable way. While Melissa McCarthy plays this character type a lot, this movie is one of the few where she plays (or is forced to play) the dumpy, mid-western type but also, the hot spy with the sailor mouth. I loved it.

Coming up: I can’t wait to see HBO’s new Richard Holbrooke documentary The Diplomat. Holbrooke was an American diplomat dating back to the ’70s and was, at the time of his death in 2010, a special envoy for Afghanistan and Pakistan. Oft outspoken, Holbrooke was one of the more polarizing and controversial figures in American politics and I’m excited to see where this doc goes. Here’s the trailer:

Leave a Reply

