BOOKS FOR SUMMER

SUMMEREADS
My current reading list is a little overwhelming. I’m in the process of 12 books. It happens every year, I get excited when books by my favorite authors come out, so I drop what I’m doing to start a new one. Even though I’ve read a lot this year, I’m also in the middle of a lot. I realize it’s a little late for a summer reading post, but there are still two months of summer left and plenty of time to start.  Here’s a list of books I’m reading/want to read/ or are coming up this fall!

FICTION:
(available now)
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris
The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud
And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld
Transatlantic: A Novel by Colum McCann
The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison
My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead: Great Love Stories, from Chekhov to Munro – edited by Jeffrey Eugenides
The Ocean at the End of the Lane: A Novel by Neil Gaiman

(available this fall)
Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish: A Novel by David Rakoff (out July 16)
Brief Encounters with the Enemy by Saïd Sayrafiezadeh (out Aug. 13)
Night Film: A Novel by Marisha Pessl (out Aug. 20)
Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat (out Aug 27)
The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (out Sept. 24)
We Are Water by Wally Lamb (out Oct. 22)

POLITICS/POLICY:
The Dispensable Nation: American Foreign Policy in Retreat by Vali Nasr
The Way of the Knife: The CIA, a Secret Army, and a War at the Ends of the Earth by Mark Mazzetti
Foreign Policy Begins at Home: The Case for Putting America’s House in Order by Richard N. Haass
Fear Itself: The New Deal & the Origins of Our Time by Ira Katznelson

NON-FICTION/ETC:
I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling with Villains (Real and Imagined) by Chuck Klosterman (out July 9)
Snake Oil: The Art of Healing and Truth-Telling by Becca Stevens
Smoke & Pickles: Recipes & Stories from a Southern Kitchen by Edward Lee
Everything is Perfect When You’re a Liar by Kelly Oxford

This list is bound to change. What are you reading?

3 thoughts on “BOOKS FOR SUMMER

    • essayem says:

      It is a long list. I think it’s more of a dream-list since half of my middle-reads aren’t included. I highly recommend the Sedaris book, he’s exactly my type of humorist & this book absolutely lives up to any hype. I’m super-interested in the Gaiman book too! I have many friends who have been life-long fans of his, so this will be my first venture, but I’ve only heard good things too!

Leave a Reply

