FRIDAY // LOVE LIST

Friday Love+List

The last time I did one of these love-lists, it was April, a new season of Game of Thrones had just started and I was diggin’ on the new Josh Ritter album. That seems like so long ago! I’m going to try to be more consistent with posting these because there’s a lot of cool stuff out there.

1. Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus & Sharpen Your Creative Mind published by Behance. I read Scott Belsky’s Making Ideas Happen a couple of years ago and loved it. It really gave me a creative boost when I needed it, and I reference it frequently just as a reminder. This new book is a compilation of advice/ideas from several high-level creatives like Belsky, Seth Godin, Gretchen Rubin, Steven Pressfield, Linda Stone (the list goes on) – and is directed at the challenges we face in a hyper-connected, 24/7 world. It’s a great, quick read, but one you can continue to reference. 2. Della Mae, The World Oft Can Be. Della Mae is a band I just heard of the other day when they played a short set at my favorite local record store, Grimey’s. Their music is in the vein of the Avett Brothers, Lumineers and Punch Brothers — so, folky, harmonic and just the kind of thing for a breezy, summer day.

3. Famous Last Word vials. These are kind of a quirky, funny thing I found on Fab.com. The implication in the description is a little disturbing — so, I imagined I’d put salt and pepper or spices in these. 4. Holla and Neighbors door mats – I found these on Uncovet.com. I never seem to find a doormat when I’m actually looking for one and settle on whatever’s cheapest. These mats, by Reed Wilson Design are fun and not too impolite. There are so many of these curated online shops popping up – Fab and Uncovet are a couple of my favorite, followed by OneKingsLane and Bourbon & Boots. But really, they sell a lot of similar things and I mostly peruse. These are great for online window shopping.

Did you know Diane Keaton designs things? I say “things” because her line K by Keaton has been around for a while (here’s an article the NYTimes wrote up back in 2011) and she designed these 5. Canape plates exclusively for Bed, Bath & Beyond, and has also designed a line of bedding and other accessories that are available online periodically. I’ve only seen a few items from this range, but I’m pretty excited as it seems right up my alley.

6. Frye – Victoria boots. I have always wanted a pair of Frye boots. I’m not sure when that desire started or what tipped it off, but these are high on my want list. They’re pretty expensive ($258) – so they’re no joke, which is partially the reason I don’t actually own them. The company is known primarily for boots, but they’ve got an extensive line of shoes for men, women and children. Definitely worth checking out.

Happy Friday everyone!

Leave a Reply

