FRIDAY // LOVE LIST

FRIDAY LOVE LIST 4/5/13

I could have made entirely separate love lists for all the new music and books I’m currently digging into. One-click ordering is an issue. 1. New albums by Ashley Monroe, Josh Ritter and Kacey Musgraves. Ashley Monroe and Kacey Musgraves have been around Nashville since I first started interning years ago (I packed up press kits for Monroe’s first album), so I’m excited that these albums (considered debuts, by both, I think) are so great, and have been well-received. They’re country in genre, but the good-time, crazy-ex girlfriend type. Josh Ritter is another one of my favorite performers (have you ever seen him live?) and musicians; his albums are a little folky, but very well-written and fun (not surprisingly, he’s also an author, check out his book Bright’s Passage).

2. Kelly Oxford’s new book Everything’s Perfect When You’re a Liar. I follow Kelly on Twitter (@kellyoxford) where she posts a near-constant stream of funny bites. The book is a collection of essays, one of which is titled: “An Open Letter to the Nurse Who Gave Me an Enema Bottle and Told Me to Do It Myself While I Was High on Morphine.” I can’t imagine this will disappoint.

3. Game of Thrones on HBO. I got into the series in the second season (and then marathon’d through the first), so it was game on for last Sunday’s premiere. It’s a fantasy series based around several noble houses in a civil war for the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms. I know this sounds like something a teenage boy might obsess over, it’s actually an immaculately shot series. And you can write “Mother of Dragons” or “Ned Stark’s Severed Head” on your viewing party Solo cups. These are just a few of the character-driven print ads that were created the for recent season premiere, that I think are simply stunning. Really great work.

4. Paris Pro Typeface by Moshik Nadav Typography. I was sourcing fonts for a project last week and came across this typeface on Behance. I love it’s simple lines (really reminiscent to another favorite, Stag), curvatures and a few unexpected designs in a few of the letters and numbers. Really classic. 5. Nike Rally Funnel Neck Hoodie – Lately, Nike has really been on point in regards to its apparel and non-athletic shoe collections. This hoodie not only looks comfortable and versatile, but I’m not as concerned about looking like I’m working out versus hanging out with the Nike logo. Lastly, I’ve posted her work frequently on this blog, but this: 6. Ernest Hemingway quote by Oh My Deer Handmades is a new favorite. I’m such a lit-nerd and Hemingway fan, it’s only a matter of time until this piece is hanging on my wall. Check out her shop, she’s has lots of really beautiful prints, cards, & calendars up for sale.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

