FRIDAY // LOVE LIST

ESSAYEM: Friday Love+List 3/8/13

It’s been a full month since I’ve posted one of these, and that feels about right, what do you think? I wasn’t running out of things to love but they were increasingly becoming intangible. I think this week is solid.

1. Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell’s new album Old Yellow Moon. I’ve been waiting for this album for a while, and as a die-hard fan of Emmylou Harris, it does not disappoint.  Some critics argue that Emmylou is a better collaborator than a soloist and while I don’t entirely agree with that (Last October, she performed the entirety of Wrecking Ball to a packed crowd in Nashville, and it was amazing) I will admit that as a collaborator, she takes a powerful song and it makes it legendary. With long time collaborator Crowell, this album is a mix of modern country (no, not contemporary), gorgeous harmony and solid, storied lyrics.

2. On the Mark necklace and Sanibel Chandelier earrings from Stella & Dot. I’d really like to go on a Stella & Dot shopping spree. Just a quick little jaunt through the online store, plucking items into my cart and then, you know, let it all be magically free. If you haven’t been, they’ve got great looking, work-appropriate and better quality than my usual stop, Forever 21. 3. Hatch Show Print – This is one of my favorite places to go in Nashville, and easily, some of the coolest show posters ever made. They almost always craft a show poster for the Ryman Auditorium (aka the “mother church of country music”) – so needless to say, I’ve got quite a collection. Visit their website (or the store, on Broadway in Nashville) to see their really amazing and legendary style and posters.

4. Alice & Olivia sequin jeans – Because who doesn’t need a pair of these? These are just weird and a little eccentric, but I think if I could pull them off, I would absolutely buy them and wear them proudly. 5. Rifle Paper Company’s Easter cards. I’m pretty sure I default to Rifle on every card-sending occasion, but these cards are gorgeous and perfect for the holiday or just hanging up on my wall.

6. Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In. This book has been getting a ton of press lately, for some pretty important reasons. Sandberg is the COO at Facebook (formerly at Google) encourages women in Lean In to challenge the common workplace assumption that “men still run the world.” The arguments surrounding Sandberg generally revolve around what kind of advice a multi-million dollar a year executive can really give to the average working woman. The book comes out on Tuesday, and it’s my goal to do a full write-up here, but if you’re interested in the debate search for three people: Sheryl Sandberg, Marissa Mayer and Anne-Marie Slaughter. You’ll find more than enough to bide your time until its release.

Leave a Reply

