WHAT ARE YOU READING?

I’ve been intending to make a book/reading-related post for a while, but instead, I just kept filling my to-read list with mass quantities of all kinds of things.  For example, this is just one wish-list and it has 101 items, most of which are books, ranging from James C. Cobb’s Away Down South: A History of Southern Identity (added today) to Kathryn Chetkovich’s Friendly Fire (added almost 7 years ago? My bad.) This is what I’m digging through today:

sstw

I’ve been brushing up on politics lately, and walked by President Bill Clinton’s 2005 memoir My Life in a bookstore (I later borrowed it through my library’s Kindle system) and thought it might be interesting. So far, so good! You can check out a preview here. I have to be honest, despite my predilection for the add-to-wishlist button, it’s really difficult to find time to read, and especially to dig in to something like I really want to. I do make a point of keeping up-to-date on industry news & trends on a daily basis, so below I’ve listed  a few articles around the web, you might enjoy and/or find interesting.

Beasts of the Southern Wild Director Benh Zeitlin on Not Waiting For Permission / @ 99u
How to Deal with Crushing Feedback on Your Creative Work / @ 99u
What does a Creative Director DO exactly? & Is Justin Timberlake Qualified? / @ Fast Company
Twitter’s Biz Stone And Ev Williams And Charlie Rose: The Long And Short Of Creative Conversations / @ Fast Company
Chuck Hagel and ‘Friends of Hamas’: Anatomy of a Smear Campaign / @ PRNewser
PR Firm’s Copy and Paste Job Gets Client’s Site Blacklisted / @ PRNewser

So, what are you reading and how do you make time for it?

2 thoughts on “WHAT ARE YOU READING?

  1. Sheila says:

    I challenged myself to read 50 books this year and so far I’m on the second one (The Book Thief). It is hard to find the time to read.I try to read at night or while exercising. I guess l haven’t been exercising enough!

    • essayem says:

      That’s a great challenge! I thought about using Audible to listen to books and exercise at the same time, but not sure if it would have the right impact on my workout.

Leave a Reply

