TYPOGRAPHY // LOUISE FILI

Here’s an excerpt from Elegantissima wherein Louise talks about getting her start in the design industry:

Elegantissima1

http://observatory.designobserver.com/feature/a-life-in-letters/35688/

One of my favorite parts:

I was sixteen when I traveled with my family for the first time to bella Italia. As I recall, immediately upon arriving in Milan, in the haze of jet lag and the oppressive July heat, I was struck by a billboard featuring an art nouveau rendering of a couple in a passionate embrace against an inky night sky, with just the words Baci and Perugina. I knew that baci meant kisses, though I didn’t even know what product this advertised. It didn’t matter. The woman was clearly in a swoon, and so was I. This was the pivotal moment when I fell in love all at once with Italy, type and food. Whenever I see the iconic Baci package (though it has been ruthlessly updated over the years), it still makes me smile. LF

Leave a Reply

