MONDAY MUSIC // HE’S MY BROTHER, SHE’S MY SISTER


All right, we’re not letting a simple thing like it being Tuesday discount my neglected Monday post. He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister has been one of my favorite bands for a little while now. They toured with Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros earlier this year, and played what was easily one of my favorite shows this year. I’ve heard their music described as “flamboyant folk” and that is probably my favorite assessment. Basically, they mesh several folk-ish genres into one, rowdy, fun show — I mean, in addition to standard vocals and guitar, they’ve got an upright bass and a girl who tap dances as percussion. I want her job. Also, I want Rachel Kolar’s long fringe dress. To wear. Every day.

Check out the video for “How’m I Gonna Get Back Home Tonight” from their album Nobody Dances In This Town.

Leave a Reply

