SCENES FROM A FILM

I’ve had this image on my desktop for years, and it always makes me smile. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is one of those films that I’ve loved, from beginning to end, from the moment I first saw it in 2004, and still love with the same amount of passion today. I don’t know if it’s the concept of the film–literally erasing someone or something from your permanent memory; or if it’s Kate Winslet, who has always been one of my favorite actresses; or if it’s just being in Montauk in winter, but this film has always captured me. And these, are some of my favorite moments:






These pictures feel so much like the beginning of the story and I’m the fan who wants you to notice everything; the fan who is always noticing things with each viewing; always relishing the lines, always registering (or trying to register) the subtle nuances of set design, of locations, of actors; etc., and having the personal revelations. I guess that’s what you do with the things you love. Everything is beautiful; everything is new; everything has meaning.

How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot.
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
– Alexander Pope, Eloisa to Abelard

What films do you watch over and over?

Leave a Reply

