JESSICA HISCHE // PENGUIN DROP CAPS

I’ve been on a bit of a reading spree since last week.  I rediscovered the Kindle app on my iPad, and also about 5 books I’d bought, read halfway, and stopped for whatever reason. In the last 5 days, I’ve finished 5 books, which has put me on somewhat of a reading high. There’s so much out there! But since they’re all digital, I can’t make a big pile on my desk of productive reading. With an estimated 17.5 million Kindle Fire users, and some 30.5 million Kindle App for iPhone users (source), maybe people aren’t buying physical books anymore. But take a look at what Penguin is issuing next month that might change that:

Jessica Hische

Pretty well known letterer and designer, Jessica Hische (w/ Penguin art director Paul Buckley) designed these new editions of Penguin classics based on her fun Daily Drop Cap series from 2009. So far, these first 6 are the only named titles and include Jane Eyre, Pride & Prejudice, and Great Expectations. The hardcover books are not badly priced either–ranging $12.52 for My Antonia to $14.36 for Madame Bovary. Each book has “a foil-stamped paper-over-board case and a decorative color stain on all three edges.” I don’t know about you, but I think these are awesome–not only to display, but also for any reason to dig back into great classic novels.

Check out this series she designed a while back for Barnes & Noble:

But will the design of a book really compel people to purchase?

Leave a Reply

