ZADIE SMITH // EXPLORE NW

I love this fun extra Penguin.com has put up to get inside the London neighborhoods traversed in Zadie Smith’s new book NW. Geography in literature can be a hard to follow if you’re not familiar with the area, or the customs, or as intimately familiar with the territory like Zadie Smith is with Willesden in Northwest London. Willesden is the setting not only for her newest release, but also her debut novel White Teeth, much of The Autograph Man (albeit veiled as Mountjoy), and also On Beauty; Willesden is literally Smith’s backyard. And I’m going to be honest, I’m halfway through the book and in my mind, Willesden looks a lot like my own neighborhood in Nashville. Which it is not.

Recently, I’ve been following how modern lit can be effectively marketed online. This is the most recent example, but I hope to be able to share a few more in future posts.

(EXPLORE ZADIE SMITH’S “NW”)

Leave a Reply

