2012 FALL BOOK PREVIEW

by essayem

Ever since I read this article from The Millions back in July, I’ve been waiting in hot anticipation to…read. When I reviewed books, I used to get request, receive and write a review before the book was even released, so waiting for the publication date has been the source of much excitement. So, starting w/ September releases, these are a few of the books I can’t wait to get my hands on–either physically, or digitally. It’s going down.

Zadie Smith – NW (available now)

Emma Straub – Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures (available now)

Junot Diaz – This Is How You Lose Her (available 9/11)

Salman Rushdie – Joseph Anton: A Memoir (available 9/18)

James Wood – The Fun Stuff: And Other Essays (available 10/30)

David Foster Wallace – Both Flesh & Not: Essays (available 11/6)

Alice Munro – Dear Life: Stories (available 11/13)

Roberto Bolaño – Woes of the True Policeman (available 11/13)

Colm Tóibín – The Testament of Mary (available 11/13)

Look at this great picture of Zadie Smith from ElleFactor.co. I love seeing writers in the middle of writing.

Ok, I could probably continue adding to this list. November 13th will be a rough day. Since we’re still in the middle of a hot/humid summer, I’m going to unabashedly fantasize about fall/winter reading in a cabin. With cocoa. And wine. And over-sized sweaters. What books are you looking forward to?

